The Voice Season 13 Schedule: Live Shows Slashed

THE VOICE -- "Blind Auditions" -- Pictured: (l-r) Miley Cyrus, Jennifer Hudson -- (Photo by: Trae Patton/NBC)

The Voice Season 13 Battle Rounds are underway. How will the rest of the season play out schedule-wise? There is good news and bad news.

The good news? Tickets for the LIVE shows are available NOW at 1iota. Click to reserve yours. That is, if you plan on being in the Los Angeles area between November 20 and December 12. The show tapes at Universal studios.

Now for the bad news. The live shows are only four weeks long. I’m not happy, because my traffic at the blog is best when the shows are live. In the past, there would be a week of LIVE playoffs with FIVE weeks of live finals in the fall and SIX weeks of live finals in the spring. The spring edition cut back to five weeks. And now, along with the Playoffs being taped, the live shows for season 13 are being cut even further.

According to the NBC press releases posted at Futon Critic, here is the remaining schedule.

Mon September 25 – Blind Auditions Premiere
Tue September 26 – Blind Auditions Part 2
Mon October 2 – Blind Auditions Part 3
Tue October 3 – Blind Auditions Part 4
Mon October 9 – Blind Auditions Part 5
Tue October 10 – Blind Auditions Part 6
Mon October 16 – The Battles Premiere
Tue October 17 – The Battles Part 2

Mon October 23 – The Battles Part 3
Tue October 24 – The Battles Part 4
Mon October 30 – The Knockouts Premiere (Kelly Clarkson set as Key Advisor)
Tue October 31 – The Voice: Best of the Season
Mon November 6 – The Knockouts Part 2
Tue November 7 – The Knockouts Part 3
Mon November 13 – Playoffs?
Tue November 14 – Playoffs?
Mon November 20 – Live Show
Tue November 21 – Live Show
Mon November 27 – Live Show
Tue November 28 – Live Show
Mon December 4 – Live Show
Tue December 5 – Live Show
Mon December 11 – Live Show
Tue December 12 – Live Show

Season 13 is a 12 week season, versus 13 weeks for season 12-season 7. There also seem to be fewer Wednesday shows. For instance–there are usually 4 hours of blind auditions during premiere week. And best of shows often air on Wednesdays. NBC is obviously cutting back The Voice’s hours. I just wish the cuts didn’t come from the live shows.

To recap: The current The Voice cycle is 12 weeks instead of the usual 13 weeks. The Playoffs will NOT be live. And, to top it all off, the finals will be four weeks instead of five.

In fact, the Top 12 have already been chosen by the coaches. Click this link for more info on spoilers. In the past, other than season 6 (and the first two cycles, which had a  different format) the Playoffs were live and the finalists partially determined by viewer votes.

About mj santilli 32640 Articles
Founder and editor of mjsbigblog.com, home of the awesomest fan community on the net. I love cheesy singing shows of all kinds, whether reality or scripted. I adore American Idol, but also love The Voice, Glee, X Factor and more!