Lauren Alaina Announces 3rd Studio Album, Drops Weepy “It Was Me”

Lauren Alaina Announces Third Album, Drops New Song

Lauren Alaina  will drop Sitting Pretty on Top of the World on September 9. The set is available for pre-order now.

The American Idol season 10 runner-up and Dancing with the Stars alum had been teasing her fans about a big announcement for days. And finally on Thursday (July 29) she dropped the cover art and due date for Sitting Pretty on Top of the World on her socials.

“Of corset’s an album,” Lauren joked on social media, employing one of her trademark puns.  She also promised to released a new song “It Was Me.”

The country singer also unveiled the tracklist with, what else, MORE PUNS: “LISTING up, y’all. You’ll be ALBUMMED if you miss this. This the official track listing for #SittingPrettyOnTopOfTheWorld. Been a SONG time coming. Hit that link below to pre-order now and get my fav song I’ve ever written, It Was Me!!”

Sitting on Top of the World is Lauren’s third full length album, after her 2011 debut Wildflower and 2017 sophomore effort, Road Less Traveled. She released two EPs, Getting Good in March 2020 and Getting Over Him in September 2020.

On the new set, Lauren includes the version of “Getting Good” that features country legend  Trisha Yearwood. Additionally “Run,” “What Do You Think Of?” with Lukas Graham and “Getting Over Him” featuring Jon Pardi were first released on the Getting Over Him EP. Lauren dropped “If The World Was a Small Town” earlier this month.

Lauren co-wrote 14 of the 15 songs on Sitting Pretty at the Top of the World

Alongside songwriters Liz Rose, Lori McKenna, Hillary Lindsey, Emily Weisband, David Garcia, Ben Johnson, and more, the singer co-wrote 14 of the 15 songs on Sitting Pretty On Top of the World, including her “Getting Over Him” featuring Jon Pardi, which is currently climbing the country charts.

Lauren describes how personal this album is saying, “It’s about a dreamer becoming an achiever. It’s being broken and ending up healed. It’s all of me. The early chapters. The new beginnings. The hope for the future and total appreciation for the past. Taking the Road Less Traveled and ending up Sitting Pretty on Top of the World.”

As she promised, “It Was Me” penned by Hillary Lindsey and Lauren Alaina dropped when the pre-order went live. Lauren described the heartbreaking weeper as “my fav song I’ve ever written.” Listen to it below.

Sitting Pretty On Top of the World TrackList:

1. It Was Me
2. If The World was a Small Town
3. Getting Good (Featuring Trisha Yearwood)
4. Same Story, Different Saturday Night
5. On Top of the World
6. Run
7. What Do You Think Of? (With Lukas Graham)
8. I’m Not Sad Anymore
9. Getting Over Him (With Jon Pardi)
10. Good Ole Boy
11. When The Party’s Over
12. You Ain’t a Cowboy
13. Goodbye Street
14. Written in the Bar
15. Change My Mind.

Lauren has a full plate these days. The Dancing with the Stars alum stars in a new Hallmark romantic comedy, Roadhouse Romance, set to air in September. And she’s releasing a self-help book, Getting Good at Being You, which will be released in November.  The book includes a forward written by country star Trisha Yearwood. She is also touring, and has upcoming dates opening for Lady A and Tim McGraw. She is scheduled to open for Florida Georgia Line on their “I Love My Country” tour beginning in September.

About mj santilli 35048 Articles
Founder and editor of, home of the awesomest fan community on the net. I love cheesy singing shows of all kinds, whether reality or scripted. I adore American Idol, but also love The Voice, Glee, X Factor and more!