Kelly Clarkson ‘chemistry’ Release Date! Listen to ‘me’ and ‘mine’

Kelly Clarkson
photo credit: Brian Bowen Smith

Kelly Clarkson’s ‘chemistry’ album out June 23. Listen to the first two singles!

Kelly Clarkson has unveiled double singles “mine” and “me.” It’s the first taste of the American Idol OG winner’s highly anticipated tenth studio album chemistry, arriving June 23 and available for pre-order now via Atlantic Records.

“Having chemistry with someone is an incredible, and overwhelming, feeling,” Kelly said in a press statement. “It’s like you have no choice in the matter. You are just drawn to each other. This can be good and bad. This album takes you down every path that chemistry could lead you down.”

Listen to Kelly Clarkson’s “Mine” and “Me”

The pair of songs compliment and contrast, showcasing the lyrical complexity featured on the project that took three years to make. On “mine,” Kelly chants go ahead and break my heart, that’s fine” before seeking karmic retribution.

Meanwhile the focus shifts inward on “me,” a triumphant anthem of self-empowerment co-written with GRAMMY-nominated rising star GAYLE. Culminating with the lyric don’t need to need somebody when I’ve got me,” the song’s message proves equally intimate and universal.

“We decided to release ‘mine’ and ‘me’ at the same time,” added Kelly. “Because I didn’t want to release just one song to represent an entire album, or relationship. There are many stages of grief and loss on this album. Each song is a different stage and emotional state.”

chemistry was first announced last month alongside an exclusive Las Vegas engagement, chemistry…an intimate night with Kelly Clarkson, opening Friday, July 28, 2023 at Bakkt Theater at Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino. Designed exclusively for the Bakkt Theater stage, Clarkson and her longtime band will immerse fans in an intimate music experience that spans her two-decade long catalog of award-winning hits. For more information and to purchase tickets, please visit

‘chemistry’ chronicles Kelly’s relationship with and bitter divorce from ex-husband Brandon Blackstock

“I was trying to find a word — it might be one of the songs on the album — that really described the whole thing. I didn’t want everybody to think I was just coming out with some ‘I’m angry’ or ‘I’m sad,’ just those two emotions,” Kelly said in a video announcement clip posted to social media. “This album is definitely the arc of an entire relationship.” After 7 years of marriage, Kelly separated from her husband, Brandon Blackstock. In the aftermath, the two battled over money and property before the divorce became final in 2021.

One of the most popular artists of this era, Kelly Clarkson has sold more than 25 million albums and 40 million singles worldwide. The Texas-born singer-songwriter first came to fame in 2002 as the winner of the inaugural season of American Idol and quickly became one of pop’s top singles artists, in addition to the first artist to top each of Billboard’s pop, adult contemporary, country and dance charts.

chemistry marks her tenth studio album and third full-length release with Atlantic Records, following 2017’s Meaning of Life and 2021’s When Christmas Comes Around…. Meanwhile on the small screen, her multi-Emmy Award-winning daytime talk show, The Kelly Clarkson Show, is currently filming its 4th season (while already picked up through 2025), and her tenure as multi-season champion coach on The Voice resumes for season 23.

chemistry TrackList

  1. skip this part
  2. mine
  3. high road
  4. me
  5. down to you
  6. chemistry
  7. favorite kind of high
  8. magic
  9. lighthouse
  10. rock hudson
  11. my mistake
  12. red flag collector
  13. i hate love (feat. Steve Martin)
  14. that’s right (feat. Sheila E.)
About mj santilli 34988 Articles
Founder and editor of, home of the awesomest fan community on the net. I love cheesy singing shows of all kinds, whether reality or scripted. I adore American Idol, but also love The Voice, Glee, X Factor and more!