Brynn Cartelli Drops Deeply Confessional “Based on a True Story) (Audio)

Brynn Cartelli - Based on a True Story
photo credit: Brynn Cartelli/Instagram

Brynn Cartelli won The Voice season 14 as a member of Team Kelly Clarkson in 2018. Afterward, Elektra records signed the teen singer, who went on tour with her mentor. But, she’s mostly been writing songs and honing her craft the past few years, save for a few new singles here and there.

Now, Brynn drops her first collection of songs, a six song EP titled Based on a True Story. Brynn wrote, or co-wrote every song. 

Brynn shares her “deepest secrets and darkest fears”

“This project is my first baby,” Brynn wrote on Instagram. “I can’t believe I am actually sharing all my secrets for you in these songs.” She thanked her fans for sticking with her. “Thank you for being so incredibly patient with me, your support and passion towards my music means more to me than I could ever put into words. This is real this is happening this is everything I’ve ever dreamed of…”

On Friday (May 28) the day she released the set, Brynn wrote: “#BOATS is out now. An introduction to who I’ve always been, and an invitation to where I will go. My deepest secrets and darkest fears, fairy tales and high school heartbreaks. All for you to take in as your own. Poured my heart and soul into these 6 songs.”

In a wide-ranging interview with American Songwriter, Brynn talked about how Taylor Swift influenced her early songwriting, which is evident in the confessional nature of the new songs.

“You can hear me struggling and wanting things to work more than they should be…”

“The balance of friendships, love, family, work, and school is never perfect and so I wanted it to be during that time,” Brynn told American Songwriter about juggling her career, family and friends after The Voice. “I was really trying to do my best to make everything happen at once.”

“That is pretty well reflected in all these songs,” she revealed. “You can hear me struggling and wanting things to work more than they should be?and making things happen or pushing things away.”

Check out the entire six song EP below. Based on a True Story is available everywhere to stream and download.

Brynn Cartelli Based on a True Story EP Art

Brynn Cartelli Based on a True Story Tracklist

1. If I Could – Ben Abraham, Brynn Cartelli
2. Imaginary Stranger – Brynn Cartelli, Joseph Spargur
3. Long Way Home – Brynn Cartelli, Nathan Chapman
4. Love You in My Mind – Brynn Cartelli
5. We Belong – Brynn Cartelli, Martin Terefe
6. Jane – Brynn Cartelli

About mj santilli 34051 Articles
Founder and editor of, home of the awesomest fan community on the net. I love cheesy singing shows of all kinds, whether reality or scripted. I adore American Idol, but also love The Voice, Glee, X Factor and more!