American Idol 2021: Disney 1st Photos! Triple Elimination! John Stamos!

American Idol 2021 Top 9 Disney Magic Castle
l-r Casey Bishop, Hunter Metts, Deshawn Goncalves, Chayce Beckham, Mickey, Alyssa Wray, Cassandra Coleman, Grace Kinstler, Willie Spence, Caleb Kennedy. photo credit: DisneyParksBlog

Check out a photo of the American Idol Top 9 in front of the Disney World Magic Castle with Mickey Mouse. The photo comes from the official Disney Parks Blog, which reported on the singers’ recent visit to Walt Disney World in Orlando Florida.

The contestants visited the “Happiest Place on Earth” recently to shoot video packages for their upcoming Disney night, which will feature the finalists performing songs from the vast Disney catalog. 

The Top 10 will become the Top 7

Also on the jam packed show, the winner of the season 18 Comeback competition will join the Top 9 to compete for SEVEN spots in the next round.  Plus, the show will air at the same time coast to coast, allowing fans across the country to vote in real time. That means THREE singers will be eliminated by the end of the show. That’s gonna be rough.

As we reported before, actor John Stamos served as the contestants’ mentor, advising them on how to approach their performances, choose songs etcetera. 

American Idol 2021 Disney Night John Stamos
John Stamos photo credit: DisneyParksBlog

Jon Batiste and Sofia Carson set to perform, Also GROUP NUMBER

Additionally on the upcoming episode, Jon Batiste, who won an Oscar on Sunday for scoring Pixar’s film Soul, will be performing a tune from the Oscar-winning animated film. Fun Fact: Jon leads The Late Show band over on CBS. Also, The Descendents star, Sofia Carson will perform a group number with the contestants. YIPPEE.

American Idol: Hunter Metts Family Surprises Him at Disney World (Video)

John, who currently stars in the Disney+ original series Big Shot, is such a huge Disney fan, that he proposed to his wife Caitlyn McHugh at Disneyland in California in October 2017. He told ETOnline that Idol asked him to menor. ‘Mentor?!’ These kids are so great I’m gonna tell them one thing, and they’re gonna go, ‘Stamos, we’ve heard you sing. Stop,'” he joked.

“I think John probably said yes when he heard ‘Disney,'” judge Katy Perry shared. “The thing is, John and I are probably the biggest Disney fans. So he gets to go to Disney World with the kids, which is basically the greatest place on Earth, and so I’m a little jealous because they didn’t ask me. I would’ve totally done it!”

American Idol Disney night airs on ABC Sunday May 2 at 8 pm ET/7 pm CT/6 pm MT/5 pm PT

 

About mj santilli 32333 Articles
Founder and editor of mjsbigblog.com, home of the awesomest fan community on the net. I love cheesy singing shows of all kinds, whether reality or scripted. I adore American Idol, but also love The Voice, Glee, X Factor and more!