FIRST LISTEN: Blake Shelton’s New Single ‘Neon Light’ + Album Tracklist/Credits/Demos!

Blake Shelton - Neon Light - Cover Art
Voice coach and country superstar Blake Shelton released a new lead single to country radio this morning, called “Neon Light,” and we’ve got your first listen right here. The song is cowritten by Andrew Dorff, Mark Irwin, and Josh Kear, and serves as the 1st single off Blake’s 11th studio album, Bringing Out The Sunshine.

The tune has a throwback feel, which suits Blake. The repetition in the chorus gets annoying and you’d think a guy with a personality as big as Blake’s would sing the kiss-off lyrics with more bite, but it’s a likable enough song. It doesn’t feel like a smash, but Blake gets A-list treatment at country radio, so it’s bound to be a hit.

Bringing Out The Sunshine is due in just 6 weeks, on September 30th, so it looks like Blake will be able to do joint promotion of The Voice (which premieres 9/22) and his album. He’s probably also trying to get out of the way of a bunch of big October releases to try to get his 1st all-genre #1.

Check out the official tracklist for Bringing Back The Sunshine via Amazon and Itunes, with songwriting credits and audio of previous versions of album tracks added where available. The album will feature 2 duets, one with the incredible Ashley Monroe (returning the favor after Blake guested on her amazing Like A Rose album for the amusing “You Ain’t Dolly (And You Ain’t Porter)”), and another with Voice Season 2 alum RaeLynn (who already guested on Blake’s “Boys Round Here”).

1. “Bringing Back The Sunshine” (Jess Leary, Anthony Smith) – listen here
2. “Neon Light” (Andrew Dorff / Mark Irwin / Josh Kear)
3. “Lonely Tonight” (featuring Ashley Monroe) (probably but not 100% CONFIRMED – Brent Anderson / Ryan Hurd)
4. “Gonna” (Luke Laird / Craig Wiseman)
5. “A Girl” (Jessi Alexander / Sarah Buxton / Abe Stoklasa)
6. “Sangria” (JT Harding / Josh Osborne / Trevor Rosen)
7. “Buzzin'” (featuring RaeLynn) (Kendell Marvel / Craig Wiseman, confirmed here)
8. “Just South Of Heaven” (Derek George / Craig Wiseman)
9. “I Need My Girl” (Rhett Akins / Ross Copperman / Ben Hayslip)
10. “Good Country Song” (Jessi Alexander / Tommy James / Matt Jenkins)
11. “Anyone Else” (Barry Dean / Natalie Hemby / Luke Laird) – Check out the demo here:

12. “Just Gettin’ Started” (Jenee Fleenor / Phil O’Donnell / Buddy Owens, confirmed by Buddy Owens) [NOTE: Songwriting credits for this track corrected]

About Deb B 432 Articles
Also known as Windmills, I cover country music news and live televised country events, in addition to recapping ABC's 'Nashville.' Additionally, I occasionally do long-form chart analysis that has been cited by Entertainment Weekly, Pitchfork, The Guardian, The New Republic, NPR, and more.