Daughtry Releases 1st Independent Album ‘Dearly Beloved’

On Friday (Sept. 17) Chris Daughtry and his eponymous band released their first independently released album since parting ways with major record label RCA. The 13 track album, Dearly Beloved, is out now on via Chris’ own label, DOGTREE Records.

For Chris, the new album is a game changer. “…it’s the first record that I’ve done independently without a major record label, and with that comes a lot of freedom. It also comes with a lot of responsibility,” Chris told Pop Culture.com.

“This was different. I didn’t have all these different voices telling me, ‘Well, in order to get on the radio,’ ‘You need to be sounding like this,’ or ‘You need to be seeing what this band is doing,'” he said. “I kind of shut all that out and listened to the most important voice, which was my own.”

What’s more, in an interview with Grammy.com, Chris calls Dearly Beloved “100 percent, hands down” his favorite record he’s made. Produced by long-time collaborators Marty Fredrickson and Scott Stevens, the band did not record outside songs. Chris co-wrote tracks with friends and band members. 

The new set includes current singles “Heavy is the Crown” and “World of Fire.” The band is currently out on the road, with the “Dearly Beloved” tour with special guests Sevendust beginning on Nov. 2. Check out tour dates and ticket information HERE

Listen to Daughtry’s new album, Dearly Beloved, below.

Dearly Beloved Tracklist

1. Desperation
2. World on Fire
3. Heavy is the Crown
4. Changes are Coming
5. Dearly Beloved
6. Cry for Help
7. Asylum
8. Evil
9. The Victim
10. Somebody
11. Call You Mine
12. Lioness
13. Break Into My Heart

About mj santilli 33097 Articles
Founder and editor of mjsbigblog.com, home of the awesomest fan community on the net. I love cheesy singing shows of all kinds, whether reality or scripted. I adore American Idol, but also love The Voice, Glee, X Factor and more!