Alejandro Aranda (Scarypoolparty) Drops Ambitious Debut Album

Alejandro Aranda (Scarypoolparty) Exit Form
photo credit Hunter Holder

Alejandro Aranda’s debut album Exit Form is out today, available to download and on all streaming platforms. Notable: When was the last time an American Idol alum dropped their debut album during the fall after their season ended? I looked it up. Season 11 winner Phillip Phillips dropped his debut on November 19, 2012. Season 13 winner Caleb Johnson rushed out a set that debuted on August 12. After that, it took a minute for Idol alums to drop their albums. Also, 19 records signed American Idol runner-ups beginning with season 2’s Clay Aiken through season 11’s Jessica Sanchez, but then stopped the practice until Season 15 runner up, La’Porsha Renae in 2016.

I’m listening to the album now. It’s a very ambitious trip through EDM, industrial, metal and rock. I suspect he’ll shed part of his American Idol fanbase who like the acoustic stuff. I also suspect, this is by design. He really has the potential for a successful and highly regarded career as an underground artist. 

American Idol’s Alejandro Aranda Drops 90’s Inspired DIAMONDS Video
Alejandro Aranda Drops New Single “Diamonds” Ahead of Fall Tour (Audio)

Check out the official press release below:

Today, Scarypoolparty (aka Alejandro Aranda) releases his highly-anticipated debut LP Exit Form. Coming on the heels of a 30-date national headlining tour, ‘Exit Form’ is a sonic quest rooted in an amalgam of electronic sounds ranging from garage house to EDM to soaring acoustic-pop, all guided by Aranda’s soulful vocals. “Exit Form is designed to be a journey,” says Aranda. “Brutal in the beginning with each track leading to something beautiful and simple.”

Co-produced and co-written by Aranda and TJ Routon (Sawyr), Exit Form showcases Aranda’s musical and emotional range, expertly fusing fast-paced walls of sound in an intricately-woven collage of pulsing beats. Six-minute opener “Black Cross” lures you with a symphony and of seemingly contrasting soundscapes, melding metal and classical, before “DIAMONDS” goes full-throttle with “Ministry-like industrial rock vibes.”Elsewhere, Scarypoolparty confronts the negative impact of smartphones and social media on the hypnotic pop-rock banger “Millennial Love,” while softer, melodic hits like “Tonight” and “Cholo Love” are “reminiscent of the genre-blending Post Malone” (Alternative Press).

Exit Form shows Scarypoolparty as an emerging force, a fresh new face in music with all the chops and bravado of an established genre-bending act and features collaborators including George Lewis Jr aka Twin Shadow, Darren King (Twenty One Pilots, Mutemath), Sawr (Zayn, Taylor Swift), Neal H. Pogue (Travis Barker, AWOLNATION) and GRAMMY-winner Mike Bozzi (Post Malone, Mac Miller).

In the last 6 months, the 25-year-old has emerged at the forefront of Los Angeles’ underground scene. From busking and playing backyard parties, to backing his mentor Twin Shadow, to being a judge-favorite and runner-up on this year’s American Idol, his unrivaled musical prowess has continually set him out at the front of the pack.

Scarypoolparty played his first-ever full band show at Lollapalooza this summer and has since played Life is Beautiful and Austin City Limits. He was recently added alongside Los Lobos as one of the headliners of the 2020 Rose Parade on January 1st in Pasadena, CA. After wrapping up this week’s sold-out, two-night affair at the Belasco Theater supported by mentor Twin Shadow, Scarypoolparty will head to London for two sold-out European debut shows at the Hoxton Square Bar & Kitchen. Check out Alejandro’s tour schedule HERE


Black Cross
Dance The Night Away
Vampire Shade
Beneath The Skin
True Religion
Heart Storm
Millennial Love
10 Years (remastered)
Cholo Love
Out Loud (remastered)

Credits: Written by Alejandro Aranda & TJ Routon (except track 10 & track 12). Produced by Scarypoolparty & Sawyr (except track 10 & track 12), “Tonight” written and produced by Alejandro Aranda & George Lewis Jr., “Out Loud” Written & Produced by Alejandro Aranda, Drums by Darren King, Bass by Maxx Diaz, Mixed by Neal Pogue, Mastered by Mike Bozzi


About mj santilli 30578 Articles
Founder and editor of, home of the awesomest fan community on the net. I love cheesy singing shows of all kinds, whether reality or scripted. I adore American Idol, but also love The Voice, Glee, X Factor and more!