49th Annual Academy Of Country Music Awards Nominations Announced (Live Blog)!

It’s time for the nominations for the 49th Annual Academy Of Country Music Awards, ya’ll! This is the country awards show that brands itself as a party, as if there weren’t already enough of those in (bro) country music. This is also the show cohosted by two bros, Luke Bryan and Blake Shelton, whose performance as hosts last year was as tiresome as the bromantic hashtag they keep trying to promote (#Bluke). On the bright side, based on their personalities and telegenic-ness they’re capable of doing better. Refresh this space for updates as nominations are announced!

The nominations will be announced by digital press conference, and we can follow along together at the ACM Awards twitter and the ACM Facebook page. Because the ACMs nominate the performing artist of a song for Song Of The Year regardless of whether they cowrote the song and also include producer credits in nominations, some acts score 2 nominations for the “price” of 1. With that in mind, we could be looking at a big day for recent Grammy winner Kacey Musgraves, who could be looking at 8 or 9 nominations this morning. Also look for cohosts Luke Bryan and Blake Shelton to show up in multiple categories. Idol judge Keith Urban will likely rack up a few nominations thanks to his collaborations on “The Highway Don’t Care” and “We Were Us.” The latter should add to his duet partner Miranda Lambert’s nomination total, which will likely also include some nominations for her single “Mama’s Broken Heart” (cowritten by Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally and Kacey Musgraves).

Nominations roundup: Carrie Underwood’s shutout from the Entertainer of the Year category (this time, after she sold out all of her Blown Away tour arena dates in the eligibility year, continued her radio success with 2 #1 hits, played the Opry 10 times, took over the Sunday Night Football intro, performed at the Emmys, and took a huge risk and delivered a huge audience for The Sound Of Music-Live!) is at this point as hilarious/pathetic as it is predictable. It’s quite obvious she isn’t part of the “right” voting blocs – Live Nation (tour promotions), William Morris Endeavor (agency), and of course the Blake Shelton/Miranda Lambert clique (not that Carrie’s unfriendly with them personally, but she’s not in with their associated power brokers). Carrie’s nomination for Video Of The Year is likely because it was a selection committee doing the nominating, not the membership. Also a surprise in the Entertainer category: no Jason Aldean, who has graduated to stadiums. Because of the fan vote component, Luke Bryan is likely to run away with his 2nd consecutive win in the category.

Miranda Lambert and Blake Shelton continue to coast as the power couple of the moment (in fairness, “Mama’s Broken Heart” is a deserving nominee, but cowriters Kacey Musgraves and Brandy Clark each perform superior versions of the song). The Album Of The Year category is a bro country disaster outside of Kacey Musgraves, who racked up 5 nominations (maybe “Merry Go Round” wasn’t eligible this year despite peaking in early 2013?). Gary Allan’s “Every Storm” snagging a Song Of The Year nomination is a pleasant surprise. “I Drive Your Truck” seems to be the most beloved song in the category, though “Mama’s Broken Heart” may benefit from not being up against another Kacey song as it was at the CMAs). The Vocal Event category is a battle between the high-profile horrendous (“Boys Round Here”, “Cruise”) and the acceptable (“The Highway Don’t Care,” “We Were Us,” “Wagon Wheel”). All things totaled: Miranda Lambert and Tim McGraw racked up 7 nominations apiece, Keith Urban racked up 6 nominations, and Lee Brice, Kacey Musgraves, Blake Shelton, and Taylor Swift racked up 5 nominations. Lee Brice is somewhat a surprise, but Curb Records has historically had some success snagging nominations at the ACMs. Eric Church, Brad Paisley, Kenny Chesney, and Hunter Hayes were among the high profile names shut out of the nominations, but Eric is likely to come back in a big way next year.

Entertainer Of The Year (industry-nominated, industry/fan-voted)
Luke Bryan
Miranda Lambert
Blake Shelton
George Strait
Taylor Swift

Male Vocalist Of The Year
Jason Aldean
Lee Brice
Luke Bryan
Blake Shelton
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist Of The Year
Sheryl Crow
Miranda Lambert
Kacey Musgraves
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood

Vocal Duo Of The Year
Big & Rich
Dan & Shay
Florida-Georgia Line
Love & Theft
Thompson Square

Vocal Group Of The Year
The Band Perry
Eli Young Band
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Zac Brown Band

Album Of The Year
Based On A True Story, Blake Shelton
Crash My Party, Luke Bryan
Here’s To The Good Times, Florida-Georgia Line
Same Trailer, Different Park, Kacey Musgraves
Two Lanes Of Freedom, Tim McGraw

Song Of The Year (award to artist and songwriter)
“Every Storm (Runs Out Of Rain)” (artist: Gary Allan, songwriters: Gary Allan, Hillary Lindsey, Matthew Warren)
“I Drive Your Truck” (artist: Lee Brice, songwriters: Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington, Jimmy Yeary)
“Mama’s Broken Heart” (artist: Miranda Lambert, songwriters: Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally, Kacey Musgraves)
“Mine Would Be You” (artist: Blake Shelton, songwriters: Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington, Deric Ruttan)
“Wagon Wheel” (artist: Darius Rucker, songwriters: Bob Dylan & Ketch Secor)

Single Record Of The Year (award to artist and producer)
Lee Brice, “I Drive Your Truck”
Florida-Georgia Line, “Cruise”
Miranda Lambert, “Mama’s Broken Heart”
Tim McGraw, Taylor Swift, Keith Urban, “The Highway Don’t Care”
Darius Rucker, “Wagon Wheel”

Video Of The Year
The Band Perry, “Better Dig Two”
Lee Brice, “I Drive Your Truck”
Miranda Lambert, “Mama’s Broken Heart”
Tim McGraw, Taylor Swift, Keith Urban, “The Highway Don’t Care”
Kacey Musgraves, “Blowin’ Smoke”
Carrie Underwood, “Two Black Cadillacs”

Vocal Event Of The Year
“Boys Round Here” – Blake Shelton featuring the Pistol Annies & friends
“Cruise” (remix) – Florida-Georgia Line featuring Nelly
“The Highway Don’t Care” – Tim McGraw featuring Taylor Swift and Keith Urban
“Wagon Wheel” – Darius Rucker featuring Dave Haywood, Charles Kelly, & Hillary Scott (Lady Antebellum)
“We Were Us” – Keith Urban and Miranda Lambert

Songwriter Of The Year
Rhett Akins
Rodney Clawson
Ashley Gorley
Luke Laird
Shane McAnally

Specialty Instrument(s) Player Of The Year
Glen Duncan
Larry Franklin
Jim Hoke
Danny Rader
Bryan Sutton

Piano/Keyboard Player Of The Year
Tony Harrell
John Jarvis
Charlie Judge
Tim Lauer
Gordon Mote

Steel Guitar Player Of The Year
Dan Dugmore
Paul Franklin
Steve Hinson
Russ Pahl
Scotty Sanders

Guitarist Of The Year
Jeff King
Troy Lancaster
Brent Mason
Rob McNelley
Jerry McPherson

Percussionist/Drummer Of The Year
Chad Cromwell
Fred Eltringham
Shannon Forrest
Greg Morrow
Lonnie Wilson

Bass Player Of The Year
Mike Brignardello
Kevin “Swine” Grantt
Mark Hill
Michael Rhodes
Glenn Worf

Audio Engineer Of The Year
Derek Bason
Ben Fowler
Mills Logan
Steve Marcantonio
Justin Niebank

Producer of the Year
Mark Bright
Dann Huff
Michael Knox
Frank Liddell
Paul Worley

The 49th Annual ACM Awards will be cohosted by Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan for the 2nd straight year, and are set to air on CBS Sunday, April 6th at 8 PM Eastern.

About Deb B 432 Articles
Also known as Windmills, I cover country music news and live televised country events, in addition to recapping ABC's 'Nashville.' Additionally, I occasionally do long-form chart analysis that has been cited by Entertainment Weekly, Pitchfork, The Guardian, The New Republic, NPR, and more.