2022 CMA Awards Winners: Carrie Underwood Iced Out

2022 CMA Awards Peyton Manning Luke Bryan

The 2022 CMA Awards took place in Nashville Wednesday night with Luke Bryan and Peyton Manning hosting. The CMAs iced Carrie Underwood out of all three of her categories–Entertainer of the Year, Female Vocalist of the Year and Music Event of the Year.

The Voice alum, Morgan Wallen, nominated for Entertainer of the Year and Male Vocalist also came up empty handed. 

Nominated for six awards, Lainy Wilson won in the Female Vocalist and New Vocalist categories. 

Carrie Underwood, Kelly Clarkson, Katy Perry and Luke Bryan all performed on the CMAs stage. Jimmie Allen bowed out a few hours before showtime due to illness, otherwise he was set to perform with Zac Brown Band and Marcus King. 

See a list of winners below.

2022 CMA Awards Winners List

Entertainer of the year

  • Luke Combs – WINNER
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Carrie Underwood
  • Morgan Wallen

Single of the year

  • “Buy Dirt” — Jordan Davis featuring Luke Bryan (Producer: Paul DiGiovanni, Mix Engineer: Jim Cooley)
  • “half of my hometown” — Kelsea Ballerini (feat. Kenny Chesney) (Producers: Kelsea Ballerini, Ross Copperman, Jimmy Robbins, Mix Engineer: Dan Grech-Marguerat)
  • “Never Wanted To Be That Girl” — Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde (Producers: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne, Mix Engineer: Ryan Gore)
  • “‘Til You Can’t” — Cody Johnson (Producer: Trent Willmon, Mix Engineer: Jack Clarke) – WINNER
  • “You Should Probably Leave” — Chris Stapleton (Producers: Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton, Mix Engineer: Vance Powell)

Album of the year

  • “Growin’ Up” — Luke Combs (Producers: Luke Combs, Chip Matthews, Jonathan Singleton, Mix Engineers: Jim Cooley, Chip Matthews) – WINNER
  • “Humble Quest” — Maren Morris (Producer: Greg Kurstin, Mix Engineer: Serban Ghenea)
  • “Palomino” — Miranda Lambert (Producers: Luke Dick, Miranda Lambert, Jon Randall, Mikey Reaves, Mix Engineer: Jason Lehning)
  • “Sayin’ What I’m Thinkin'” — Lainey Wilson (Producer: Jay Joyce, Mix Engineer: F. Reid Shippen)
  • “Time, Tequila & Therapy” — Old Dominion (Producers: Shane McAnally, Old Dominion, Mix Engineer: Justin Niebank)

Song of the year

  • “Buy Dirt” – Songwriters: Jacob Davis, Jordan Davis, Josh Jenkins, Matt Jenkins – WINNER
  • “Never Wanted To Be That Girl” – Songwriters: Shane McAnally, Ashley McBryde, Carly Pearce
  • “Sand In My Boots” – Songwriters: Ashley Gorley, Michael Hardy, Josh Osborne
  • “Things A Man Oughta Know” – Songwriters: Jason Nix, Jonathan Singleton, Lainey Wilson
  • “You Should Probably Leave” – Songwriters: Chris DuBois, Ashley Gorley, Chris Stapleton

Female vocalist of the year

  • Miranda Lambert
  • Ashley McBryde
  • Carly Pearce
  • Carrie Underwood
  • Lainey Wilson – WINNER

Male vocalist of the year

  • Eric Church
  • Luke Combs
  • Cody Johnson
  • Chris Stapleton – WINNER
  • Morgan Wallen

Vocal group of the year

  • Lady A
  • Little Big Town
  • Midland
  • Old Dominion – WINNER
  • Zac Brown Band

Vocal duo of the year

  • Brooks & Dunn
  • Brothers Osborne – WINNER
  • Dan + Shay
  • Maddie & Tae

Musical event of the year

  • “Beers On Me” — Dierks Bentley with BRELAND & HARDY (Producers: Dierks Bentley, Ross Copperman)
  • “If I Didn’t Love You” — Jason Aldean & Carrie Underwood (Producer: Michael Knox)
  • “Longneck Way To Go” — Midland (featuring Jon Pardi) (Producers: Dann Huff, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne)
  • “Never Say Never” — Cole Swindell (with Lainey Wilson) (Producer: Zach Crowell)
  • “Never Wanted To Be That Girl” — Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde (Producers: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne) – WINNER

Musician of the year

  • Jenee Fleenor, Fiddle – WINNER
  • Paul Franklin, Steel guitar
  • Brent Mason, Guitar
  • Ilya Toshinskiy, Banjo
  • Derek Wells, Guitar

Music video of the year

  • “I Bet You Think About Me” (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault) — Taylor Swift (featuring Chris Stapleton) (Director: Blake Lively)
  • “Longneck Way To Go” — Midland (featuring Jon Pardi) (Director: Harper Smith)
  • “Never Say Never” — Cole Swindell (with Lainey Wilson) (Director: Michael Monaco)
  • “Never Wanted To Be That Girl” — Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde (Director: Alexa Campbell)
  • “‘Til You Can’t” — Cody Johnson (Director: Dustin Haney) – WINNER

New artist of the year

  • Walker Hayes
  • Cody Johnson
  • Parker McCollum
  • Lainey Wilson – WINNER
About mj santilli 34841 Articles
Founder and editor of mjsbigblog.com, home of the awesomest fan community on the net. I love cheesy singing shows of all kinds, whether reality or scripted. I adore American Idol, but also love The Voice, Glee, X Factor and more!