Eurovision Song Contest 2014 – The Grand Final

The bearded lady wins!


Click HERE to read Eurovision’s fascinating history.

Emmelie de Forest won Eurovision Song Contest for Denmark last year with song “Only Teardrops”, so Denmark’s capital Copenhagen is hosting ESC 2014. This year, 37 countries are participating.

10 countries from each of the two semifinals (semifinal 1, semifinal 2) qualified for tonight’s final. The Big 5 (United Kingdom, Germany, Spain, France and Italy) and host country (Denmark) are automatically qualified for the final. The national broadcasters of Big 5 countris pay the most money to European Broadcasting Union and basically make the Eurovision Song Contest happen. It costs around 20 million Euros to organize the competition.

So, 26 songs will be performed in a row tonight. Each song can be only 3 minutes long and it can be performed by a maximum of 6 people (this includes singers, band, backing vocalists and dancers). The singers sing live, but the music is all recorded, so don’t be fooled with all the instruments on stage – it’s all for the show.

After all the performances, the televoting will start and people from 37 countries all around Europe will cast their votes. Televoting is only 50% of the vote – the other half of the vote comes from national juries of 5 that were announced well in advance. The juries watch the dress rehearsals and vote the night before the event (dress rehearsal for tonight was last night). Once the results come in and everything is ready, the spokespersons from all 37 countries will be called and we will hear “Hello Europe, this is (capital XY) calling!” about as many times. Each country gives points to 10 other countries. Points 1-7 appear on the screen and then the spokesperson reveals the countries that receive 8, 10 and 12 points. The spokespersons used to reveal the 1-7 points results, too, but this was changed because a record number of 43 countries participated in 2008 and 2011.

Get ready for a loooong evening. :)

Eurovision Song Contest – Official Website – NEWS

Watch the show live HERE! (Click the link under Live Now!)

All videos will be available after the show HERE.

1. Ukraine – Mariya Yaremchuk – Tik-Tock

2. Belarus – Teo – Cheesecake

3. Azerbaijan – Dilara Kazimova – Start a Fire

4. Iceland – Pollapönk – No Prejudice

5. Norway – Carl Espen – Silent Storm

6. Romania – Paula Seling & OVI – Miracle

7. Armenia – Aram MP3 – Not Alone

8. Montenegro – Sergej Cetkovic – Moj Svijet

9. Poland – Donatan & Cleo – My Slowianie – We Are Slavic

10. Greece – Freaky Fortune feat. RiskyKidd – Rise Up

11. Austria – Conchita Wurst – Rise Like a Phoenix

12. Germany – Elaiza – Is it right

13. Sweden – Sanna Nielsen – Undo

14. France – TWIN TWIN – Moustache

15. Russia – Tolmachevy Sisters – Shine

16. Italy – Emma – La Mia Città

17. Slovenia – Tinkara Kovac – Round and Round

18. Finland – Softengine – Something Better

19. Spain – Ruth Lorenzo – Dancing in the Rain

20. Switzerland – Sebalter – Hunter of Stars

21. Hungary – András Kállay-Saunders – Running

22. Malta – Firelight – Coming Home

23. Denmark – Basim – Cliche Love Song

24. The Netherlands – The Common Linnets – Calm After the Storm

25. San Marino – Valentina Monetta – Maybe (Forse)

26. United Kingdom – Molly – Children of the Universe

The Voting Order for The Grand Final
Azerbaijan: (Sabina Babayeva)
Greece: (Andrianna Maggania)
Poland: (Pauliana Chylewska)
Albania: (Andri Xhahu)
San Marino: ( Michele Perniola)
Denmark: (Sofie Lassen-Kahlke)
Montenegro: (Tijana Miskovic)
Romania: (Sonia Argint Ionescu)
Russia: (Alsou)
The Netherlands: (Tim Douwsma)
Malta: (Valentina Rossi)
France: (Elodie Suigo)
United Kingdom (Scott Mills)
Latvia: (Ralfs Eilands)
Armenia: (Anna Avanesyan)
Iceland: (Benedikt Valsson)
FYR. Macedonia: (Marko Mark)
Sweden: (Alcazar)
Belarus: (Alyona Lanskaya)
Germany: (Helene Fischer)
Israel: (Ofer Nachshon)
Portugal: (Joana Teles)
Norway: (Margrethe Røed)
Estonia: (Lauri Pihlap)
Hungary: (Éva Novodomszky)
Moldova: (Olivia Furtuna)
Ireland: (Nicky Byrne)
Finland: (Redrama)
Lithuania: (Ignas Krupavičius)
Austria: (Kati Bellowitsch)
Spain: (Carolina Casado)
Belgium: (Angelique Vlieghe)
Italy: (Linus)
Ukraine: (Zlata Ognevich)
Switzerland: (Kurt Aeschbacher)
Georgia: (Nodi Tatishvili and Sophi Gelovani)
Slovenia: (Ula Furlan)

Eurovision Song Contest Grand Final: Opening Sequence

Emmelie de Forest – Rainmaker – Live at the Grand Final of the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest

Austria is the winner of the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest!

Winner – Conchita Wurst – Rise Like A Phoenix – Austria – Live at the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest

Semifinal 1 Scoreboard
Semifinal 2 Scoreboard
Grand Final Scoreboard

About Mateja Praznik 1060 Articles
I recently graduated from the Faculty of Law in Ljubljana, Slovenia. In my free time I like to read books, watch TV and listen to music. I'm also a huge cat lover. I cover X Factor UK for