American Idol’s Catie Turner drops nostalgic single ‘Hometown’

Catie Turner
Photo Credit Caity Krone

American Idol’s Catie Turner drops nostalgic new single “Hometown”

Singer-songwriter Catie Turner has shared her nostalgic new single, “Hometown.” A powerful pop reflection on where the American Idol alum grew up–the greater Philadelphia PA area–and the insecurities that come with that place and the time spent there. The track will be included on Catie’s ambitious new project Comedy & Tragedy: Act 1 set for release June 9th. See full tracklist below.

“‘Hometown’ is about when you feel unsafe and unfamiliar in what is supposed to be the most familiar place in the world,” Catie shared in a press statement. “All because of a failed relationship. The fear of them seeing you, and you seeing them, so you hide out in your bedroom. This goes out to everyone who has worn their hood up on an outing to WaWa or refused to go to Trader Joe’s because they didn’t want to run into their ex’s mom!”

Comedy & Tragedy is a two-part collection of songs and visuals to be released throughout 2023. The project was introduced with the deeply introspective (but still upbeat) “Hyperfixations.” The inspiring “Easy” followed earlier this month, originally teased on Catie’s TikTok where it quickly amassed more than 1.1M likes.

Comedy & Tragedy: Act 1 also includes Turner’s heart-wrenching breakthrough hit single, “God Must Hate Me,” which proved a worldwide viral phenomenon upon its original November 2021 release. The track earned more than 1.2M streams in its first week, landing Catie on the cover Spotify’s influential “Next Gen Singer Songwriters” playlist. Now with almost 72.6M global streams. Catie takes the theatrically inspired project even further with Comedy & Tragedy: The Musical: The Series, now underway on her TikTok HERE.

Catie’s Comedy & Tragedy tour begins June 3

Catie will celebrate Comedy & Tragedy with her biggest US live run thus far. Comedy & Tragedy: The Headline Tour gets underway June 3 at Dallas, TX’s Deep Ellum Art Company with stops at New York City’s Mercury Lounge and West Hollywood, CA’s famed Troubadour. Tickets for all announced dates are on sale now; additional dates will be announced soon. For updates and ticket information, please visit

Comedy and Tragedy: Act 1 Tracklist

  1. Comedy & Tragedy
  2. Easy
  3. God Must Hate Me
  4. Hyperfixations
  5. Control
  6. Hometown

Recently Catie mentored American Idol season 21 contestants during the first episode of the Hollywood Round. Catie and six fellow alums helped singers prepare for their first round of Hollywood Week competition. She and Phillip Phillips mentored the songwriting group.

About mj santilli 34995 Articles
Founder and editor of, home of the awesomest fan community on the net. I love cheesy singing shows of all kinds, whether reality or scripted. I adore American Idol, but also love The Voice, Glee, X Factor and more!