Adam Lambert Will Mentor American Idol Top 8 for Queen Night April 28

THE SHOW MUST GO ON: THE QUEEN + ADAM LAMBERT STORY - (Miracle Productions) ADAM LAMBERT, QUEEN

For fans who clamor for the return of an American Idol alum to mentor the show, there is good news. On Sunday April 28, the Top eight contestants will sing the songs of Queen. And none other than season 8 alum Adam Lambert will mentor the singers. Yay! Additionally, Adam will perform on the 3 hour season finale airing live coast to coast on May 19.

Billboard reports that each of the top eight contestants will perform a song from the Queen catalog, before partnering up for movie duets.

Adam has been fronting Queen since 2011. The genesis of Adam’s partnership with the band began back in 2009 when the singer performed “Bohemian Rhapsody” during his own audition for the show. He later performed with Queen in that year’s season finale. 

Adam has already appeared with contestants on Idol several times. The singer helped the season 9 finalists prepare for Elvis Week in 2010. Two years later he performed “Titanium” with season 12 singer Angie Miller on that season’s finale. During season 13, Adam teamed up with season 5’s Chris Daughtry to assist mentor Randy Jackson with the contestants. He took Keith Urban’s place on the panel during the season 14 New York City auditions.

And beyond American Idol, Adam judged on as season of X Factor Australia in 2016. He might have continues on the panel if the show had not been cancelled.

Beginning with the Sunday April 23 episode through the May 19 finale, fans will be able to watch and vote simultaneously across all US time zones. Viewers will vote by text, via AmericanIdol.com/vote, and on the show’s app during the show. Results will be revealed at the end of the episode.  

Adam’s appearance as an American Idol mentor comes one day before ABC airs the Queen + Adam Lambert Documentary, The Show Must Go On: The Queen + Adam Lambert Story.

With rare concert footage and exclusive, revealing portraits of the band members offstage, The Show Must Go On chronicles Queen and Adam’s incredible journey since they first shared the stage together on American Idol in 2009. 

American Idol airs Sundays at 8 pm EDT/7 pm CDT/6 pm MDT/5 pm PDT on ABC.

About mj santilli 29309 Articles
Founder and editor of mjsbigblog.com, home of the awesomest fan community on the net. I love cheesy singing shows of all kinds, whether reality or scripted. I adore American Idol, but also love The Voice, Glee, X Factor and more!