Adam Lambert, Leona Lewis to Duet ‘Girl Crush” on CMT Special


Well. Hit me with a brick! Who saw THIS coming. CMT today announced that pop singers, Adam Lambert and Leona Lewis will celebrate Little Big Town with a “once-in-a-lifetime performance” of the band’s “controversial chart-busting” anthem “Girl Crush” during the 2015 CMT Artists of the Year Special, live from Schermerhorn Symphony Center in Nashville on Wednesday, December 2 at 8pm ET/PT.

Yes. You heard that right. Adam Lambert will be making an appearance on Country Music Television! Personally, I think it’s an awesome crossover idea. Adam should reprise his out-of-the-box rendition of “Ring of Fire” from his American Idol days. Speaking of controversy–there was a bit of an uproar over “Girl Crush” initially, after some fans mistakenly believed the song was about a lesbian affair and demanded stations not play it. The publicity helped the song–about a jealous woman wanting to literally embody her ex’s new girlfriend–more than hurt it. The song eventually became a big sales and radio hit.

You may also remember Leona Lewis when she won X Factor UK years ago, and followed up with the international hit, “Bleeding Love.”

In addition, Darius Rucker will be joined by Cassadee Pope and RaeLynn (The Voice season 3 and 4 winners, and Team Blake alumni) to toast Blake Shelton, with a performance of his #1 hit “Neon Light” live for the first time.

The sixth-annual 90-minute special will celebrate the top five artists deemed by the cable channel to be some of the best country music had to offer this year:  Blake Shelton, Florida Georgia Line, Little Big Town, Luke Bryan and Sam Hunt. Country legend Kenny Rogers will receive the “Artist of a Lifetime Award,” Chris Stapleton will receive the first-ever “CMT Artists of the Year Breakout Award” and perform live, while the cast of Nashville will receive the inaugural “International Impact Award.”

The evening will feature tributes and toasts from Dolly Parton, Dan Rather, Hillary Scott, Trace Adkins, Kellie Pickler and more.

Previous “CMT Artists of the Year” honorees include Jason Aldean (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013), Kenny Chesney (2011, 2012), Eric Church (2012), Hunter Hayes (2013), Toby Keith (2012), Lady Antebellum (2010, 2011), Miranda Lambert (2012, 2014), Tim McGraw (2013), Brad Paisley (2011), Taylor Swift (2010, 2011), Carrie Underwood (2010, 2012), Keith Urban (2014) and Zac Brown Band (2010).

Adam Lambert fans, it’s time to check your cable guides to find where the heck CMT is on your boxes, and then tune in tomorrow night!

About mj santilli 34698 Articles
Founder and editor of, home of the awesomest fan community on the net. I love cheesy singing shows of all kinds, whether reality or scripted. I adore American Idol, but also love The Voice, Glee, X Factor and more!