47th Annual ACM Awards Nominations Include Carrie Underwood, Kelly Clarkson

Nominations for the 47th annual ACM Awards were announced this morning, and 2 Idols (so far) and a Voice coach made the cut. Check out the nominations here!

Carrie Underwood and Kelly Clarkson scored 2 nominations apiece for the 47th annual ACM Awards. The two most successful Idols to date will compete in the Vocal Event Of The Year category, while Carrie is nominated again for Female Vocalist of the Year and Kelly joins Jason Aldean in the Single Of The Year category for “Don’t You Wanna Stay”. Scotty McCreery is likely to join that list when the Top New Artist nominees are announced on 1/30 (next Monday). Voice coach Blake Shelton also scored 2 nominations, Male Vocalist Of The Year and Entertainer Of The Year.

Kenny Chesney leads all nominees with 9 nominations (he scored a few double nominations for “You & Tequila” since he has a producer credit). Jason Aldean has 6 nominations and Brad Paisley has 4.

Entertainer Of The Year
Jason Aldean
Kenny Chesney
Brad Paisley
Blake Shelton
Taylor Swift

Top Female Vocalist
Sara Evans
Miranda Lambert
Martina McBride
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood

Top Male Vocalist
Jason Aldean
Kenny Chesney
Brad Paisley
Blake Shelton
Chris Young

Top Vocal Group
The Band Perry
Eli Young Band
Lady Antebellum
Rascal Flatts
Zac Brown Band

Top Vocal Duo
Love and Theft
Montgomery Gentry
Steel Magnolia
Thompson Square

Song Of The Year
“Crazy Girl” – Eli Young Band
Composers: Lee Brice, Liz Rose
Publishers: Cake Taker Music (BMI), Mike Curb Music (BMI), Sony/ATV Tree Publishing (BMI), Sweet Hysteria Music (BMI)

“Home” – Dierks Bentley
Composers: Brett Beavers, Dierks Bentley, Dan Wilson
Publishers: Big White Tracks (ASCAP), Chestnut Barn Music (BMI), Chrysalis Music/BMG Rights (ASCAP), Chrysalis One Songs (BMI)

“Just A Kiss” – Lady Antebellum
Composers: Dallas Davidson, Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott
Publishers: Dwhaywood Music (BMI), EMI Blackwood Music, Inc. (BMI), EMI Foray Music (SESAC), Hillary Dawn Songs (SESAC), Radiobulletspublishing (BMI), String Stretcher Music (BMI) Warner-Tamberlane Publishing Corp. (BMI)

“Threaten Me With Heaven” – Vince Gill
Composers: Amy Grant, Vince Gill, Dillon O’Brian, Will Owsley
Publishers: Grant Girls Music (ASCAP), Vinny Mae Music (BMI), Willie-O Music (ASCAP)

“You And Tequila” – Kenny Chesney Featuring Grace Potter
Composers: Matraca Berg, Deana Carter
Publishers: Deanaling Music (ASCAP), Hannaberg Music (BMI), Songs of Universal Inc., (BMI), WB Music Corp. (ASCAP)

Single Record Of The Year
“Crazy Girl”, Eli Young Band
“Don’t You Wanna Stay”, Jason Aldean/Kelly Clarkson
“Red Solo Cup”, Toby Keith
“Tomorrow”, Chris Young
“You & Tequila”, Kenny Chesney/Grace Potter

Album Of The Year
Chief – Eric Church (EMI-Nashville)
Produced by: Arturo Buenahora, Jr., Jay Joyce

Four The Record – Miranda Lambert (RCA)
Produced by: Chuck Ainlay, Frank Liddell, Glenn Worf

Hemingway’s Whiskey – Kenny Chesney (BNA)
Produced by: Buddy Cannon, Kenny Chesney

My Kinda Party – Jason Aldean (Broken Bow Records)
Produced by: Michael Knox

Own The Night – Lady Antebellum (Capitol Records Nashville)
Produced by: Lady Antebellum, Paul Worley

Songwriter of the Year *(Off Camera Award)
Rhett Akins
Dallas Davidson
Ben Hayslip
Luke Laird
David Lee Murphy

Video of the Year (Award to Producer(s)/Director(s)/Artist(s)) *(Off Camera Award)
“Homeboy” – Eric Church
Producer: Brandon Arolfo
Director: Peter Zavadil

“Just A Kiss” – Lady Antebellum
Producer: Don Lepore
Director: Shawn Silva

“Mean” – Taylor Swift
Producer: Oualid Mouaness
Director: Declan Whitebloom

“Red Solo Cup” – Toby Keith
Producer: Mark Kalbfeld
Director: Michael Salomon

“Tattoos On This Town” – Jason Aldean
Producer: John Burke
Director: Wes Edwards

Vocal Event of the Year (Award to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company) *(Off Camera Award)

“Country Boy” – Aaron Lewis Featuring George Jones & Charlie Daniels (R&J Records)
Produced by: Aaron Lewis, James Stroud

“Don’t You Wanna Stay” – Jason Aldean With Kelly Clarkson (Broken Bow Records)
Produced by: Michael Knox

“Old Alabama” – Brad Paisley Featuring Alabama (Arista Nashville)
Produced by: Frank Rogers

“Remind Me” – Brad Paisley Duet With Carrie Underwood (Arista Nashville)
Produced by: Frank Rogers

“You And Tequila” – Kenny Chesney Featuring Grace Potter (BNA)
Produced by: Buddy Cannon, Kenny Chesney

Producer Of The Year
Mark Bright
Buddy Cannon
Nathan Chapman
Jay Joyce
Frank Liddell

Fiddle Player Of The Year
Glen Duncan
Stuart Duncan
Larry Franklin
Joe Spivey
Jonathan Yudkin

Steel Guitar Player Of The Year
Paul Franklin
Mike Johnson
Greg Leisz
Russ Pahl
Scotty Sanders

Guitarist Of The Year
J.T. Corenflos
Kenny Greenberg
Jay Joyce
Brent Mason
Adam Shoenfeld

Percussion/Drummer Of The Year
Matt Chamberlain
Chad Cromwell
Shannon Forrest
Chris McHugh
Greg Morrow

Bass Player Of The Year
Mike Brignardello
Kevin “Swine” Grantt
Mark Hill
Michael Rhodes
Jimmy Lee Sloas

Audio Engineer Of The Year
Jeff Balding
Derek Bason
John Kelton
Mills Logan
Justin Niebank

The ACM Awards will air Sunday April 1st at 8 PM Eastern/7 PM Central on CBS. Reba McEntire cohosts with Blake Shelton.

About Deb B 432 Articles
Also known as Windmills, I cover country music news and live televised country events, in addition to recapping ABC's 'Nashville.' Additionally, I occasionally do long-form chart analysis that has been cited by Entertainment Weekly, Pitchfork, The Guardian, The New Republic, NPR, and more.