Colton Dixon Releases His Debut Album “A Messenger” January 29 (Track List)

I just received a stream of Colton Dixon’s new album. A Messenger, set to be released on January 29! Stay tuned for me. Check out the press release below announcing the release date of Colton’s debut album.


NASHVILLE, TN, December 17, 2012 —Set to release his inspiring powerhouse debut album A Messenger on January 29, 2013 on EMI-CMG/Sparrow Records, American Idol Season 11 finalist Colton Dixon is already a chart-topping artist via the album’s first two singles, “Never Gone” and “You Are.” both of which were released this past Fall.

Heard by more than 360, 000 on last summer’s American Idol Live Tour across the U.S., Colton Dixon’s uplifting power ballad “Never Gone” was an immediate hit digital single, selling 21,000 units its first week and heading straight to #1 on the iTunes Christian & Gospel singles chart, Billboard’s Christian Digital Songs, and Christian/Gospel Digital Songs charts. Colton’s performance of “Never Gone” on the tour marked the first time an Idol contestant has performed that they co-wrote on the annual Idol tour.

“You Are,” Colton’s subsequent debut radio single, also hit #1 its first week on the iTunes Christian & Gospel singles chart, Billboard’s Christian Digital Songs, and Christian/Gospel Digital Songs charts. The fiery anthem was selected as USA Today’s Song of the Week upon its digital release in October.

A Messenger features 11 tracks that showcase the multi-talented singer/songwriter’s trademark balance of vocal tenderness and intensity, his energetic piano playing and, above all, a sense of hope and inspiration. The track listing for A Messenger is as follows:

1. Noise
2. I’ll Be The Light
3. You Are
4. Never Gone
5. Love Has Come
6. Scars
7. Rise
8. Where My Heart Goes
9. This Is Who I Am
10. In and Out of Time
11. Let Them See You

For the album Colton worked with a notable team of co-writers and producers including Red Decibel, the team of Adam Watts, Andy Dodd and Gannin Arnold (Kelly Clarkson, Switchfoot), who co-wrote “Never Gone,” “Shape Of Your Love” and “In and Out of Time”; megaproducer busbee (Daughtry, P!nk, Switchfoot, Smash Mouth), who co-wrote “You Are,” and the
power rock “Noise.” Renowned Nashville based songwriter Zac Maloy (Daughtry, Plain White T’s), who penned the power anthem “I’ll Be The Light,” and Dave Bassett (Shinedown) who co-wrote “This Is Who I Am.” Colton wrote “Where My Heart Goes” with top gospel writer/producer David Garcia and Ben Glover, who was named ASCAP’s Christian Songwriter of the Year for 2012. The final track on A Messenger is the stripped down, acoustic “Let Them See You” written by Scotty Wilbanks, touring keyboardist of Third Day.

In support of A Messenger, Colton Dixon will be touring as a special guest on 46 dates with Third Day, starting February 21, 2013 in Fairfax, Virginia. February 14 will see Colton supporting fellow Idol Jessica Sanchez at Araneta Coliseum in Manila for a special Valentine’s Day concert, and in September he will be performing at the Rock the Universe Festival in Orlando, FL.

About mj santilli 33488 Articles
Founder and editor of, home of the awesomest fan community on the net. I love cheesy singing shows of all kinds, whether reality or scripted. I adore American Idol, but also love The Voice, Glee, X Factor and more!